The Last Three Winners of the Irish Greyhound Derby

The Irish Greyhound Derby has a rich history, dating all the way back to when it was first raced at Harold’s Cross in 1928. Although not officially recognised until 1932, the 550-yard contest is now considered as one of the biggest races in the entire sport of Greyhound Racing, and every trainer and owner make it their goal to scoop their share of the €255,460 prize — €115,000 of which goes to winner — each and every year!  

Now held at Shelbourne Park, its permanent home since 1970, the Irish Greyhound Derby, which will conclude with the final on September 18th, is sure to attract plenty of interest from punters looking for a Betdaq greyhound bet, and Explosive Boy is currently leading the way at 11/2, with Jackslittlething slightly further out at 7/1. 

So, as you ponder over who to back ahead of the big race, let’s take a look back at the last three winners of the Irish Greyhound Derby. Read on to find out more! 

2020: Newinn Taylor

The final of the 2020 renewal of the Greyhound Derby boasted quite the line-up, with the unbeaten Pestana leading the betting market at 11/8, with Newinn Taylor, the winner of his respective heats in the quarter-finals and semi-finals, just behind at 13/8, while Ballymac Wild and Ballymac Cooper could not be ruled out either. Given the quality on show, it was always going to be an intriguing race, and with all four of the already mentioned dogs breaking well, there was trouble at the first bend. Pestana forced Ballymac Wild into the rail, which caused some disturbance, as Pestana was knocked over, hampering the others in the race, whilst leaving Newinn Taylor clear on his own. A late charge from Meenagh Mircale resulted in her taking over Ballymac Cooper in second, but Newinn Taylor was able to hold on to win by half a length. 

2019: Lenson Bocko

After the late withdrawal of Our Surprise, the 2019 edition of the Irish Greyhound Derby was contested by just five dogs, with Lenson Bocko, who won his quarter-final and semi-final heats with ease, the odds-on favourite at 4/5. 5/1 shot Mucky Brae was the best out of the traps, but he had competition by the first bend, and Run Happy was soon in the lead, as Lenson Bocko and Mucky Brae impeded each other at the second bend. On the final bend, there was little to separate Run Happy and Lenson Bocko, but as they raced towards home, Boylesports King closed the gap on the leaders, and had there been an extra couple of yards, the 9/1 outsider would have certainly taken the victory. Instead, Lenson Bocko held on to win by a neck. With Run Happy dropping down to third as the sponsor’s dog took second. 

2018: Ballyanne Sim

Despite having three joint favourites, Jaytee Taylor, Magical Bale and Slippy Cian, the 2018 renewal of the Irish Greyhound Derby was won by Ballyanne Sim —who caused a massive upset by winning the race from a mammoth 12/1. Several dogs broke out of the traps well, including Ballyanne Sim and Magical Bale, whilst Jaytee Taylor had his work cut out after missing the break. Ballyanne Sim led from the first bend, with Magical Bale hot on her tail the whole way, even closing the gap on the home straight, but the 12/1 shot held on win — landing a record time of 29.28 in the process, which is yet to be beaten.

Anabel Cooper

Anabel is a graduate of King’s College London and upon graduating, she set out on a journey to inspire and empower women through her words. Besides working as a digital marketing expert, Anabel is a freelance copywriter.